Book Review

#14 Book Review

img_2396

The Wee Free Men

by Terry Pratchett

from Discworld – Tiffany’s #1

“It doesn’t stop being magic just because you know how it works.”

Genre: fantasy

I must admit that I was one of those people who didn’t know who Terry Pratchett was.
It was simply thanks to a friend of mine, a super – real fan of Mr Pratchett, that gave me in December a book of his worldly known saga Discoworld.
The book is part 3 of Tiffany’s adventures, so I decided to buy the first part to start knowing this character, and of course, Mr Pratchett.
Some people may not want to read Mr Pratchett’s books because they are considered as books written only for children and teenagers.
Nope.
Well, maybe they are, but it doesn’t mean that they are forbidden to adults, or that they are too easy or simple for those who considered themselves too much grown for these things.
In my opinion, there are books for children that can be really appreciated by any adult, just if you give them a chance.

Anyway, this book was a great surprise for me.
It makes you feel part of the story, and Tiffany is an unconventional girl, with interesting ideas, and she has the power to show the reader new ways to analyse, or just understand, reality.
An important aspect of Tiffany is her close relationship with Nature and animals, that it is something that nowadays we are losing every day more.
Despite the magical creatures of the books, it has some similarities with our own world, and Tiffany is a great example that any child should follow, and she is used by Mr Pratchett to show us simple and different points of view about different themes.
He explains things in such an easy way that, while reading, I often founded myself thinking “Sure, it is so clear!” , but I was a bit disappointed to realise that I didn’t understand it before.

I do suggest this book to anyone who hadn’t yet read anything written by Terry Pratchett.
My vote is 5/5, as in my Goodreads account.
I devoured this books in less than a week.

One thought on “#14 Book Review

Rispondi

