Book Review

#16 Book Review

1481824852932

 

The Miniaturist

by Jessie Burton

“Every woman is the architect of her own fortune.”

 

Genre: Historical fiction

This review is pretty late.

I’ve been thinking about what to write on it without spoiling too much.

Firstly, this story and the way in which it is told reminded me Tracy Chevalier’s style and novels.
I read this book in 2 days because once I started it I needed to know what was going to happen after each single page.
The ending is quite surprising though I guessed one thing before the story revealed it, but it was interesting to discover how each single element of the story is strongly connected with the others.
Despite appreciating the novel, I still don’t have a favourite character, I don’t know why, but it is not the first time it happens to me.
The majority of the events narrated are set into the house of the protagonist, and it gave me a sense of claustrophobia because the characters are always surrounded by the same four walls.
It is not something that ruin the story, but this indoor setting, in a way, made me feel uncomfortable.
But don’t worry, there are a few events that take place outdoor.
I liked the story, but the fact that it strongly reminded me Chevalier’s novels is a kind of negative aspect that I found, because it shows, for me, that it is not so new or unique as I thought it was.
Anyway, I do recommend it because it will capture your attention since the very first page.
I want give you a little advice, do not trust any single character, don’t judge anyone until the end.
I really can’t say much more because I do risk to ruin your reading.

This book belongs to point 1 of my Winter Challenge.

My vote: ❄❄❄❄❄

One thought on “#16 Book Review

Rispondi

