Book Review

#29 Book Review

alcott-louisa-may-little-women-2-1200x800

Little Women

by Louisa May Alcott

“Don’t try to make me grow up before my time…”

Genre: Novel

Little Women tells the story of the March family; set during the second half of the 19th century, while Mr March is at the front, the reader follows the lives of the female members of the family, Mrs March and her daughters, Jo, Beth, Amy, Meg.
The main theme and characteristic of this book are represented by the simple sentence “Love is a lovely family” that clearly underlines the essence of the Marchs.
Each daughter has her own traits and characteristics, and any reader can easily choose which one represents him or her the best.
I personally do identify myself with Jo; a young and rebel girl, with a strong passion for books.
I read it for the first time when I was very young, and I decided to read it again a few months ago, because I was so curious to discover how differently I would perceive the story and its protagonists.
Despite our personal ideas on this book, I do think that it is a must – to – read book; it is part of the American literature, and talks about worldwide known feelings that are not bound only to the century in which the story takes place.
I grew up with Alcott’s novel, and I think that in a way the character of Jo influenced my emerging passion for books.
Each sister has her personality, different from the others, but the four of them put together create a perfect union, as if they could be perceived as an unique being made by different “ingredients”.
It may happen too, I suppose, that some reader would find difficult to identify him/herself with only one character, considering that they are all perfectly described, as to make clear how different they are.
Furthermore, I appreciate that each sister has her bad and good characteristic, because it moves the fictional world of this novel closer to our reality, closer to our knowledge of the world.
For this reason, there are a few passages in the books where I do not agree with Jo’s behaviour, and they tempted me to change my mind about her.
Once finished, I found myself still convinced in preferring her to all the others.
If you read this book in your childhood, please read it again, and if you haven’t read it yet do it.
As always, enjoy your reading.

Pic. from Pinterest

Rispondi

