Books from the World A - Z

|Books from the World A – Z|

Austria & Australia

austria australia

Books from the World is a new series of articles I decided to wirte.

I came up with this idea a few days ago, after realising there were so many authors from different countries whose works I have never read, and I thought it would be good for any reader, and for me too, to recommend a few titles from different countries.

I decided to organise this series of articles in a alphabetical order, from A to Z, but without listing all the A countries in only one article.

My idea is that of selecting no more than two or three countries at time, belonging to the same letter (e.g. letter A), and a few titles/authors from these countries.

I will extremely appreciate any further recommendations from you, about writers and books form the countries I will write about.

I do hope this series could be a sort of inspiration to any of you and me to discover new titles, and books to fall in love with.

Have a nice journey.

 

AUSTRIA

fdv

 

Our journey will begin in Europe, in Austria.
I must admit that, because of not having studied German at school, I have no notions of Austrian literature.
My fault.
Being A the first letter of the alphabet, I decided to start with something new to me, and though my ignorance I discovered I actually read something by Austrian writers.
The Austrian writers I know are Sigmund Freud (1856-1939) and Stefan Zweig (1881-1942); the first one is part of my high-school background in philosophy, while the second author was a new discovery for me.

 

Sigmund Freud’s

fr

The Interpretation of Dreams 

Freud’s discovery that the dream is the means by which the unconscious can be explored is undoubtedly the most revolutionary step forward in the entire history of psychology. Dreams, according to his theory, represent the hidden fulfillment of our unconscious wishes.

form Goodreads

 

 

 

117f6d6dea19fd603ed170cb09b69c3b Psychopathology of Everyday Life

A simple but convincing explanation of things we may have experienced in our lives.

 

 

 

 

 

⇒  I haven’t rated these books, either on my Goodreads account, because I found they were a bit difficult to read. They are not novels or poems, and I thought it was better not to “judge” them, considering their importance.

Stefan Zweig’s

bdd511b71dab30fca0ff91550fa83152

Chess Story or The Royal Game  

The world champion of chess, a rude and arrogant man, is travelling by ship from New York to Buenos Aires. On board, many travellers try to show their skills challenging him, but they are all defeated. But it still last one passenger more to defeat.

My rate is 1/5 on Goodreads

 

 

 

AUSTRALIA

d112f0632a0df76375abb483a9cadbc4

My ignorance goes on also with our next destination, Australia.

At high – school I studied many British and a few American writers, but not a single Australian one.
Luckily for me, I had the chance to read something Australian in my life, and I am now making some researches to find out new titles and authors.
The only one I have known so far is Marcus Zusak (1975).

Marcus Zusak’s

9c8c6fd97051c4609a4e47f6dfb2c986 The Book Thief

Germany, WWII. It is Liesel’s story, it is also a story about books, war, friendship and love.

I do recommend it; in my opinion, it is one of the most captivating books set during the WWII.

My rate is 5/5 on Goodreads

 

 

 

The photos I used for this article are all from Pinteres.com.

 

4 thoughts on “|Books from the World A – Z|

    1. Grazie! 🙂 Sto facendo delle ricerche per vedere quali altri libri di Zweig vorrei leggere, chissà che non trovi anche quello! Le prossime puntate sono in fase di preparazione 😉

      Mi piace

Rispondi

