Book Review

#32 Book Review


 Sherlock Holmes

by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

“The world is full of obvious things which nobody by any chance ever observes.”

 

Genre: detective fiction,

In a way, Sherlock Holmes has always been part of my family.

It all started with my grandpa (my mum’s dad), he had all the books written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – books that now are at my home – and he transmitted his passion for them to my mum.

Actually, my grandparents transmitted to my mum, and consequently to me their passion for the crime genre, such as Agatha Christie.

Though all the books on Sherlock have always been in front of my eyes for years, I waited a very long time to read them, to be more precisely, after I watched the whole BBC Sherlock series.

So, I am now sharing my opinions on the books I have read so far.

The book you see in the picture up here is a massive collection, heavy but fantastic.

In this collection, an Italian edition, there are all the four novels on Sherlock:
– A Study in Scarlet

– The Sign of Four

– The Hound of Baskervilles

– The Valley of Fear

Then it contains also The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, a series of 12 short stories.

I was pleased to notice how not so different the series is from the books, though the BBC Sherlock is a little bit less sentimental.

Anyway, I loved this book since its very first page.

Considering my habit of making a list of the books I read in a year, on my Goodreads account this book here is marked as one.

But actually I should say I read 5 books instead of 1, if they were published separately.

So, in my paper list of books read I marked 5 Sherlock Holmes’ books read.

In any case, I do recommend it/them to you.

You will love Sherlock Holmes’ cases.


Rispondi

